Agenda Item No. 1 Higher Education Coordinating Board October 28, 2011

## ARKANSAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD Special Meeting July July 28, 2011

## **Minutes of Meeting**

The Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board held a special meeting on Thursday, July 28, 2011, at Phillips Community College of the U of A – Stuttgart Campus in the Grand Prairie Center. Chairman Leech called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. with all Board members present.

## Coordinating Board present:

David Leech, Chair Dr. Olin Cook, Vice-Chair Sarah Argue, Secretary Dr. Charles Allen

Dr. Joe Bennett

Dr. Bob Burns

Bob Crafton

Horace Hardwick

Kaneaster Hodges

Dr. Calvin Johnson

Steve Luelf

Florine Milligan

## Department staff present:

Shane Broadway, Interim Director
Harold Criswell, Interim Deputy Director
Jackie Holloway, Senior Associate Director for Finance
Rick Jenkins, Associate Director for Planning and Accountability
Cynthia Moten, Associate Director for Academic Programs
Zanette Douglas, Coordinator of Institutional Certification
Brandi Hinkle, Communications Officer
Nichole Abernathy, Administrative Support

Presidents, chancellors, institutional representatives, members of the press, and guests were also present.

Chairman Leech thanked presidents and chancellors for attending the Special Board meeting and welcomed new Coordinating Board member Dr. Calvin Johnson to his first Coordinating Board meeting.

Chairman Leech then called on Interim Director Shane Broadway to present information on the Academic Challenge Scholarship (ACS). Broadway presented information that broke down the applications by year, county, and gender.

After explaining the difference in the ACS categories, Broadway then gave a breakdown of the award amounts by category. Award amounts for the Academic Challenge Scholarship will be slightly lower for new recipients – \$4,500 for those enrolled at four-year institutions and \$2,250 for those attending two-year colleges, as determined by the 88th General Assembly. Students who received the awards last year will continue to receive \$5,000 and \$2,500 respectively, as long as their continuing eligibility requirements are met.

Broadway thanked Interim Deputy Director Harold Criswell for coordinating the scholarship processing efforts at ADHE. With Criswell's help, ADHE staff have processed more transcripts than last year in a shorter amount of time said Broadway. He also thanked the entire ADHE staff for their combined efforts. Everyone from the receptionist to the Associate Directors did their part to help with the processing efforts, he said.

Chairman Leech thanked Interim Director Broadway for the informative information.

Florine Milligan asked if ACS funds were held for out-of-state students. Broadway said no.

With no further comments, the meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

APPROVED:	Nichole Abernathy
Sarah Argue, Secretary	