ARKANSAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD Special Meeting July 26, 2012

Minutes of Meeting

The Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board held a special meeting on Thursday, July 26, 2012, at South Arkansas Community College in El Dorado in the Conference Center/Student Center. Chairman Cook called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. with a quorum present.

Coordinating Board present:

Dr. Olin Cook, Chair
Dr. Charles Allen, Vice-Chair
Sarah Argue, Secretary
Dr. Joe Bennett
Bob Crafton
Horace Hardwick
Kaneaster Hodges
Sherrel Johnson
Florine Milligan

Coordinating Board absent:

Dr. Bob Burns David Leech

Department staff present:

Shane Broadway, Interim Director
Harold Criswell, Interim Deputy Director
Cynthia Moten, Associate Director for Academic Programs
Rick Jenkins, Associate Director for Planning and Accountability
Tara Smith, Senior Associate Director for Finance
Chandra Robinson, Program Specialist
Callan Callaway, Program Coordinator
Brandi Hinkle, Communications Officer
Nichole Abernathy, Administrative Support

Presidents, chancellors, institutional representatives, members of the press, and guests were also present.

Chairman Cook thanked presidents and chancellors for attending the Special Board meeting.

Chairman Cook introduced new AHECB member Sherrel Johnson and welcomed her to her first Coordinating Board meeting.

Agenda Item No. 1 Report on the College-Going Rate of Public School Graduates

Rick Jenkins presented summary and detailed information about the college – going rate of public school students that graduated in 2011.

The college-going rate for all Arkansas public and independent institutions in 2011 Fall is 52.2 percent. This is an increase of .5 percent from the previous fall term. The proportion of this cohort entering 4-Year Universities was 32.3 percent (an increase of 1.1 percentage points), while the 2-Year Colleges was 16.7 percent (a decrease of 0.6 percentage points) and the proportion of the cohort entering Private/Independent Institutions was 3.3 percent (no change).

Agenda Item No. 2 Student Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) Program

Act 2124 of 2005 transferred administrative responsibility for the Student Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) Program to ADHE. Cynthia Moten presented information on the SURF Program.

The SURF program awards fellowships to undergraduate students at Arkansas 2-year and 4-year institutions to encourage these students to conduct in-depth research projects under the tutelage of a tenured or full-time faculty member serving as a mentor. Recipients agree to present the results of his/her research at a state or national conference or to attend a meeting of experts in his/her discipline.

A \$4,000 maximum award is comprised of a student award, mentor award, travel cost and institutional match. In the 2011-12 academic year, 76 awards were made for a total of \$179,911.

Florine Milligan asked if it were true that one out of three students that received the SURF award went out of state. Ms. Moten said that is true. Ms. Milligan asked if something could be done to get them to stay. Ms. Moten said the students' application could be modified to include what degree they are pursuing and at what institution.

Bob Crafton asked if this is a Federal program. Ms. Moten responded that it is a State program.

Mr. Crafton asked is there competition to get in. Ms. Moten said only one third of the students that apply receive awards.

Agenda Item No. 3 Academic Program Review

Arkansas Code §6-61-214 requires that the Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board (AHECB) review existing academic programs at Arkansas public colleges and universities to identify certificate and degree programs not meeting minimum standards of quality and viability, and to establish schedules for either resolving these concerns or removing the programs from the AHECB approved program inventory. The existing academic program review policies (AHECB Policy 5.2) were adopted in 1988 and revised in 1995 and 1998. Institutions have been conducting program reviews for more than 20 years.

Beginning Fall 2010, Arkansas colleges and universities were required to employ external consultants to review all certificate and degree programs over a period of 7-10 years with the findings from the reviews reported annually to the Coordinating Board. Accredited, licensed and state certified programs followed the usual review practices and the schedule of the accrediting/approval body.

Cynthia Moten explained that reviews were conducted according to AHECB policy 5.12. The institutions have responded to the reviewer's concerns and suggestions. The 2-year institutions plan to collaborate on state-wide reviews for the AAT, AA, and other similar programs that are not accredited, licensed or state certified.

Agenda Item No. 4 Report on Faculty Performance Review 2011-2012

Arkansas Code Annotated §6-63-104 and Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board (AHECB) policy 5.5 require that each college and university conduct an annual performance review of faculty members; and the Arkansas Department of Higher Education (ADHE) staff is required to make a report to the Coordinating Board and Legislative Council each year. Each institution has submitted a report to ADHE that describes the process followed during the 2011-2012 academic year. Institutional plans are on file with ADHE and significant amendments to these plans must be submitted for Board approval.

Ms. Moten said that faculties' performance was assessed using a variety of methods including assessments by students, classroom visits by administrators, peer review, and self-evaluation activities.

Agenda Item No. 5 Search Committee Update

Search Committee Chairman Kaneaster Hodges gave an update on the June 21, 2012 meeting of the Search Committee. He said the committee had received 13 applications so far and only found two of those applicants worthy of interviewing.

Sarah Argue said she would like the opportunity to consider additional applicants.

Dr. Richard Dawe suggested that the Search Committee consider interviewing the top two applicants before they entertain other jobs opportunities.

Dr. Olin Cook said that he did a job study and the salary isn't comparable to the college presidents and chancellors, and even if the current interim director continues to fill the position, the salary should increase.

Dr. Charles Allen stated that he hoped the Coordinating Board would still work to amend the current law.

After further discussions, Chairman Hodges suggested that Dr. Cook contact the top two applicants to schedule interviews.

With no further comments, the meeting adjourned at 5:38 p.m.

APPROVED:	Nichole Abernathy
Sarah Argue, Secretary	