HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD STATE BOARD OF WORKFORCE EDUCATION AND CAREER OPPORTUNITIES STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Minutes of Joint Meeting

Prepared by the Department of Higher Education

The Annual Joint Meeting of the Higher Education Coordinating Board (HECB), State Board of Education (SBE), and State Board of Workforce Education and Career Opportunities (SBWECO) was called to order by HECB Chairman Kaneaster Hodges at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, October 9, 2006, at the Hilton Little Rock Metro Center.

Dr. Linda Beene introduced Governor Mike Huckabee. Governor Huckabee praised the efforts of all three boards and agencies. He said, "There is good news that higher education is bringing in more students than ever before," adding that more Arkansans are realizing a high school diploma is not enough. Governor Huckabee announced that he supports full and total funding of the biennial recommendation. He added that the formula was one of higher education's greatest advances and credited the presidents and chancellors for being "heroic, unselfish and visionary."

Chairman Hodges introduced HECB members David Leech, Dr. Lynda Johnson, David Damron, Dr. Dan Grant, Phil Ford, Jodie Carter, Bill Johnson, Steve Luelf, Mark Smith, Dick Trammel, Dr. Anne Trussell and Dr. Linda Beene, Director of the Department of Higher Education.

Chairman Hodges also introduced Dr. Robert Potts, new Chancellor of Arkansas State University Jonesboro, and Senator Shane Broadway.

Diane Tatum, SBE Chair, introduced SBE members Randy Lawson, Sherry Burrow, Jim Cooper, Dr. Calvin King, Dr. Tim Knight, Dr. Ben Mays, MaryJane Rebick, Dr. Naccaman Williams and Dr. Ken James, Director of the Department of Education.

Jack Justus, SBWECO Chair, introduced SBWECO members Phil Taylor, Richard Smith, Kathy Scarsdale, Bob McClanahan, Lucy Ralston, Terry Youngblood and John Wyvill, Director of the State Board of Workforce Education and Career Opportunities.

Chairman Hodges introduced Michael Cohen, President of Achieve Inc., and David Spence, President of the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB). Both Cohen and Spence discussed college and workplace readiness through a redesign of the high school curriculum. Michael Cohen spoke about the American Diploma Project, including a study that revealed 40-45 percent of recent high school graduates said they were not well prepared for college or work; 42 percent of faculty said college freshmen were not well prepared; and 45 percent of employers said graduates lacked the skills to advance. Michael Cohen emphasized that "college ready is the same as career ready." He said Arkansas is ahead of the nation in the number of high school graduates and college enrollment but lower in the number of students getting a degree. He added, "Smart Core is a national model," saying it is a "smart move." Dave Spence said Arkansas is among a few states that are "far in the lead on college readiness concepts" and public school teachers wanting to teach more rigorous classes.

Following presentations from the national speakers, information on the bond proposal was presented by Lu Hardin, President of the University of Central Arkansas, Dr. Ed Franklin, Director of the Arkansas Association of Two-Year Colleges (AATYC) and Dr. Alan Sugg, President of the University of Arkansas System.

Chairman Hodges thanked speakers and guests then adjourned the meeting of the Joint Boards of Education at 12:00 p.m.

Following the adjournment of the Joint Board Meeting, the Annual Meeting of the College and University Trustees continued with Chairman Hodges' presenting information on the Public Agenda for Higher Education. He stated that at the August 4 Higher Education Coordinating Board meeting, he named a committee to pursue the development of a public agenda for higher education. Chairman Hodges noted that the committee has highlighted and summarized many of the current initiatives and accomplishments at every campus as well as captured the expectations of individual citizens who want to pursue higher education and the needs of business and industry.

Next, a panel of legislators including Senator Jack Critcher, Senator Dave Bisbee, Senator Gilbert Baker, Senator Shane Broadway, Representative David Rainey, Representative Janet Johnson and Representative Mike Burris discussed their views on higher education issues for the 2007 session.

Trustees representing six universities and colleges also expressed their views on current issues. Trustees participating were Stanley Reed, University of Arkansas; Florine Milligan, Arkansas State University; Alex Strawn, Henderson State University; John Barnes, Pulaski Technical College; Jeff Teague, South Arkansas Community College; and Scott Trammel, Black River Technical College.

Chairman Hodges thanked the participants and speakers for attending and reminded Trustees to pick up their certificates.

With no further comments, the meeting adjourned at 4:00